
HOW TO FILE AN APPEAL OF A TRANSPORTATION CITATION


IF YOU WISH TO APPEAL THIS CITATION, YOU MUST DO SO WITHIN 20 CALENDAR DAYS OF THE DATE YOU RECEIVED THE CITATION. 

[bookmark: _Hlk45788357]There are two options to file your appeal, both options require you to use of the Appeal Form located at the link below:

Appeal Form

Option 1: You may file your appeal electronically by following the instructions on the CPUC’s Filing A Document Electronically (E-filing) webpage E-File a Document (ca.gov)

Option 2: You may file your appeal by sending six (6) paper copies addressed to CPUC’s Docket office:

[bookmark: _Hlk45794436]California Public Utilities Commission
Docket Office, 2nd Floor
505 Van Ness Ave
San   Francisco, CA 94102


After Filing your appeal, you must also serve the Notice of Appeal:

To serve copies of the Notice of Appeal, you must attach a “Certificate of Service for a Citation Appeal.”  In the Notice of Appeal, you must state why you are appealing the citation. 

To properly serve the Notice of Appeal, send the Notice of Appeal and any attachments by e-mail to the following recipients:


1. [bookmark: _Hlk45788035]CPUC Docket Office, ALJ_Docket_Office@cpuc.ca.gov
2. Transportation Enforcement Inbox, TEB_Citation_Appeals@cpuc.ca.gov
3. Terra Curtis, Director CPED, Terra.Curtis@cpuc.ca.gov
4. Michelle Cooke, Chief Administrative Law Judge, Michelle.Cooke@cpuc.ca.gov
5. ALJ Division Appeals Coordinator, ALJ_Div_Appeals_Coordinator@cpuc.ca.gov 

Please note if you are appealing by the Paper Copy process you must also file the Notice of Appeal either by emailing as described above or mailing to the following:

Original plus six copies to:

1. Docket Office, California Public Utilities Commission, Docket Office, 2nd Floor, 505 Van Ness Ave., San Francisco, CA 94102

One Copy Each to:

2. Terra Curtis, Director, Consumer Protection and Enforcement Division, California Public Utilities Commission, 505 Van Ness Ave., 2nd Floor, San Francisco, CA 94102
3. Michelle Cooke, Chief Administrative Law Judge, California Public Utilities Commission, Administrative Law Division, 505 Van Ness Ave., 5th Floor, San Francisco, CA 94102
4. ALJ Division Appeals Coordinator, California Public Utilities Commission, Administrative Law Division, 505 Van Ness Ave., 5th Floor, San Francisco, CA 94102

5. Kenneth Bruno, Program Manager, Consumer Protection and Enforcement Division, Transportation Enforcement Branch, 320 W. 4th Street Los Angeles, CA 90013

You may request an extension of time to file an appeal

You may request up to 30 days additional time to file an appeal.  To ask for extra time, contact the Supervisor listed on the citation on or before the due date to seek a 30-day extension.  A copy of the letter granting you an extension must be attached to your appeal. 

The Citation Appeals Process can be found in Appendix A of CPUC Resolution ALJ-377, available through this link:  ALJ-377 Appendix A Citation Appeal Rules.  The relevant Citation Appeals Process is also included in the packet you received along with the citation.

Paying the Citation and Availability of Payment Plans
If you do not want to file an appeal and agree to comply with the citation and pay the fine, sign the Citation Compliance Agreement.  Contact the Supervisor listed on the citation before the due date to seek authorization for any payment plans as necessary.

Frequently Asked Questions

WHAT HAPPENS IF I DON’T RESPOND? 

If you do not respond to the citation within the 20 calendar days, you will be in default of the citation, and will lose your right to appeal the citation.  In addition, CPED will immediately suspend your operating authority.  If you do not pay the citation amount or make a payment arrangement by 30 days after suspension of your operating authority, CPED will revoke your operating authority.  Once we revoke your operating authority, we cannot reinstate it. Instead, first you must pay the citation fine, and then apply to the CPUC for new operating authority and pay a filing fee. The CPUC may also act through a civil or criminal proceeding to recover any unpaid fines and to ensure compliance with applicable statutes and CPUC orders. 

WHAT ARE MY RIGHTS? 

If you file a Notice of Appeal, the CPUC will set a hearing date for your appeal to be heard before an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ). 

Hearing Venue: 
Appeal hearings may be conducted by telephone, by WebEx, or in person. The date, time, and location (remote or in-person) for your hearing will be provided by the ALJ in advance of your hearing. 

At the hearing:

There are two different types of Hearing Procedures for an Appeal to be heard before a CPUC Administrative Law Judge.

Expedited Citation Appeal Procedure
Resolution ALJ-377 provides for an expedited process for citations at or below the jurisdictional limit of the Small Claims Court in California as referenced in Public Utilities Code § 1702.1.  This is currently $10,000 for individuals and $5,000 for corporations.

· Attorneys or representatives are not allowed to represent parties in the expedited process.
· No court reporters will be present, nor will a transcript be provided.
· You are entitled to have an interpreter present at the hearing to translate for you. The CPUC will provide the interpreter free of charge.  To have an interpreter at the hearing, you must make a written request to the Chief Administrative Law Judge and to the Office of the Public Advisor (see contact information, on this form) no later than five business days before the date of your hearing.
· You may provide evidence and call witnesses to testify for you.  If you will be providing evidence for the record of the hearing, you must provide that evidence to CPED no later than three days before the date of your hearing.
· A party who is subject to the Expedited Citation Appeal Procedure, may at any time before the swearing in of the first witness at the evidentiary hearing, request termination of the Expedited Citation Appeal Procedure, and that the matter be recalendared for hearing under the Commission’s regular procedure for Citation Appeals.  The Commission or the assigned Administrative Law Judge, when the public interest so requires, may at any time before the filing of a resolution addressing the Citation Appeal, terminate the Expedited Citation Appeal Procedure and recalendar the matter for hearing under the Commission’s regular procedure for Citation Appeals.

Regular Procedure for Citation Appeals 
For cases exceeding the small claims threshold above, or when the appellant requests termination of the expedited procedure, the CPUC will use the regular procedure for citation appeals.

· You may have an attorney or someone else represent you, but you must pay for the attorney or other representative. 
· You may ask for a transcript of the hearing, but you must pay the cost of the transcript. 
· You are entitled to have an interpreter present at the hearing to translate for you. The CPUC will provide the interpreter, and you will not have to pay for the interpreter’s service.  To have an interpreter at the hearing, you must make a written request to the Acting Chief Administrative Law Judge and to the Office of the Public Advisor (see contact information, below) no later than five business days before the date of your hearing.
· You may provide evidence and call witnesses to testify for you.  If you will be providing evidence for the record of the hearing, you must provide that evidence to CPED no later than three days before the date of your hearing.


WHERE CAN I GET HELP? 

The CPUC’s Public Advisor’s Office can help you file your appeal.  The Public Advisor’s Office cannot appear at the hearing with you or help you present your appeal but can help you understand the appeal process.  The Public Advisor’s Office can be reached at: 

Telephone: 866-849-8390 or 415-703-2074
Email: public.advisor@cpuc.ca.gov 
Mail: CPUC Public Advisor, 505 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94102
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